What I Buy at the Grocery Store

I’ve had the honor of taking quite a few friends now to my fave grocery store and showing them what I buy and why. People are always so curious how our family eats/ what we eat.  So I just let them look in my cart and show them! Here is a follow-up email I sent my friend that recently went shopping with me (in case you’re wondering too).  🙂

So if you want to eat healthier without increasing your grocery budget to $700 a month!!…

I would still buy all meat, produce, and dairy (if any!) organic, grass-fed, etc.

But… to save money for now, you could get some of this stuff conventional if you had to…
rice, beans, lentils, grains/ flour, oats and the following produce: pineapple, watermelon, asparagus, avocado.

It’s a balancing act. You want to get non-gmo foods and you want to get healthy foods. But you also have a budget and your family’s finances to consider. The link below is a great list to tell you top things you should definitely buy organic and then also cleaner produce that you could probably get conventional if you had to…. http://www.ewg.org/foodnews/list.php

I try to buy lettuce (to make lots of salads!), asparagus, pineapple, avocados, cilantro, and bananas at nearly every shopping trip. I don’t always, but I try. These are great superfoods for you!!

Other staples at our house that I buy in bulk or buy often:
-beans (pinto, black, garbanzo, lentils, split peas, etc),
-brown rice,
-oats,
-spelt grains for flour,
-coconut oil,
-olive oil,
-local raw honey,
-real maple syrup- organic,
-raw agave nectar,
-celtic sea salt,
-lemons for lemon juice,
-frozen peas, frozen green beans,
-lots of carrots, onions, garlic cloves,
-flax seed, chia seeds,
-olives,
-cashews, almonds, sunflower seeds,
-Bragg’s raw apple cider vinegar,
-nutritional yeast,
-coconut/ palm sugar,
-coconut milk,
-lots of veggies,
-lots of fruits.
Oh, and whole grain spaghetti noodles, organic peanut butter, and organic tortilla chips.  🙂

All these foods above make up about 95% of our diet!

To avoid the majority of GMO foods, avoid: Soy, corn, canola, sugar, and dairy. Always buy organic with these to ensure you’re getting Non-GMO!! Of course, soy is not healthy even organically so we avoid it big time.

Happy Healthy Eating!

Leave a Reply

