My Favorite 2014 Reads

Here are some of my favorite books that I read in 2014, in case you’re looking for recommendations!

The Homeschool Experiment by Charity Hawkins- Hilarious, easy/ quick read.  For anyone homeschooling or considering homeschooling.  This author is so funny and so real, I loved it!  You’ll laugh like crazy!

Family Is Hard, Deal With It by Todd Wilson- Such great points we as parents need to be reminded of.  The hard stuff is really worth it and the things that are really worth it are hard.  Great points that need to be heard!

Vaccines:  Are They Really Safe and Effective by Neil Z Miller.  I’ve reviewed a bit of material on vaccines, and this book was one of my favorite because it was relatively short and straight to the point.  If you have children, you should at least be fully informed on vaccines- their efficacy and their safety.  You should know if the disease the vaccine is made to prevent is treatable if not vaccinated, weigh out the risk of the vaccine vs. the disease, etc.  Educate before you vaccinate!  This is a great resource!

Today Matters by John C. Maxell- Such a neat concept… what you do with your life today dictates how the rest of your life will be.  Today does matter.  If you want to reach that big, audacious goal, work on it each and every day.

The Hiding Place by Corrie Ten Boom- I can’t believe I had never read this.  Riveting, this holocaust story had me on the edge of my seat.

Fresh Wind, Fresh Fire by Jim Cymbala- I’m not sure that this author attends the same denomination church as me, but whew… the Holy Spirit is alive and working!  This book left me thinking for months!  Good stuff!

Follow Me by David Platt- Another great book by David Platt.  Read this one, Radical, and Radical Together and you will SO be called out of your comfort zone!

Calm My Anxious Heart by Linda Dillow- Very good reminders to be content where you are… your relationships, your situation, etc.  Have a CALM heart.  This one spoke to me.

Other Runner-Up Books that I Also Enjoyed:
In A Pit With a Lion On a Snowy Day by Mark Batterson

Rhinestone Jesus by Kristen Welch

Love Idol by Jennifer Dukes Lee

2 thoughts on “My Favorite 2014 Reads

  1. So glad you shared these!! Hiding Place is on my top 10 list, and Calm My Anxious Heart was one I loved and should revisit. Always fun to see what you read. 🙂

Leave a Reply

