Really Messy, Really Sloppy Black Bean Burgers

If you like to eat perfectly polite with a fork, don’t make these.

If you’re having company over, don’t make these.

If it’s just you and the children, go on ahead!  They are almost as messy and hard to eat as sloppy joe’s.  But, the flavor is THERE.  I’ve made these over and over and over again over the past several years.

I will say, hubby likes them a little different than me, but I think these are perfect.  (I’ll list his variation at the end).

Sloppy Black Bean Burgers:
-About 3 1/2 Cups Cooked Black Beans
-1 Green Bell Pepper
-1/2 of an Onion
-2-3 Cloves of Garlic
-2 tsp Cumin (I actually probably add more than this because I really like to cook with Cumin).
-About 1/2 Cup Oats
-Sea Salt
-Toppings/ Condiments:  Mustard, Cashew Mayo Spread, Pickles, Tomato

1- Partially blend (or use a hand mixer) the cooked and drained black beans.

2- In a food processor, puree the bell pepper, onion, and garlic cloves together.  Blend them till truly a puree.
DSCN7753

3- Add the onion mixture to the beans in a large bowl.  Season with salt and cumin and add in the oats.  Mix well.

4- If you’re not making dinner at the last minute like me, you could put your mixture in the fridge to get cold for 30-60 minutes so they’ll form nicer patties.  Or not.  🙂

5- Pre-heat a frying pan on medium-low heat and coat with coconut oil.  Cook burgers.  Continue to add coconut oil as needed to prevent sticking.

6- Serve with all your favorite toppings, my favorites are listed above and they are the best.  🙂

Okay so here are my tips since I’ve made these several times:
-I don’t know if you have a really great pickle brand that you like, but I don’t eat these without my Bubbie’s pickles.  If you try these burgers without Bubbie’s pickles, you do so at your own risk.  🙂

-You could try adding an egg to help them hold together better.  I don’t, and they are very sloppy, did I mention that already?!

-You could possibly add bread crumbs to the mixture to help them stay together better??  I don’t.

-I use a warm tortilla cut to bun size for my bun.  I like these with a “tortilla bun” better than a regular hamburger bun.

-My husband likes to add ketchup and chili powder and extra salt to the mixture before cooking.  Then more ketchup after.  Or barbecue sauce.  He also uses a regular hamburger bun.
DSCN7755

3 thoughts on “Really Messy, Really Sloppy Black Bean Burgers

  1. Another fabulous meal!! Thanks for sharing your love of whole foods!
    My husband has oat allergies so I used ground chia seeds. It was great!!! He had seconds.

Leave a Reply

