Homemade Bread and Vinegarette

Nothing more satisfying than hot, fresh bread dipped in some yummy vinegarette!  Here’s how we do it!…
DSCN9299
DSCN8295
For the bread I pretty much follow this recipe (click here).

I do make a few changes though…

-I don’t use the dough enhancer it calls for, doesn’t need it in my opinion.

-I add a little extra sweetener (like 2-3 Tbsp Agave Nectar).

-If you want a spongier bread and you’re not sensitive to gluten, you may add 2T Vital Wheat Gluten (Bob’s Red Mill brand makes this).

And here’s to a TASTY crust!… To make a sweet crust, I mix up some melted coconut oil and some coconut palm sugar in a small bowl. After the dough is shaped into the loaf pans, I brush on the mixture before letting it rise the 2nd time. Makes for a nice, sweet crust!

Tip for Slicing:  For slices for sandwiches later, let it cool in the fridge completely and then cut it while it’s cold, I’ve found it slices better that way, you can slice thinner than when it’s warm.

And here’s my signature Vinegarette recipe that is great for dipping any breads! So yummy!…
DSCN9298
-2Tbsp Lemon Juice (fresh is best) (We juice many lemons at a time and freeze them in 2T-sized icecubes, so lemon juice is always ready to use!)

-1/4 tsp Celtic Sea Salt (Mineral-rich salt that is so healthy for you!)

-1/2 cup Olive Oil (Bragg’s brand just taste better, we’re hooked!)

-1-2 Tbsp Honey, depending on how sweet you want it (Local, Raw Honey is best)

-1 Tbsp Balsamic Vinegar

-Adjust anything if needed, to taste preference. Enjoy!
DSCN9306

 

One thought on “Homemade Bread and Vinegarette

  1. I wanted to tell you how much I enjoy your site. I’ve gotten lots of great tips and information. I also love how you stress that you are not perfect, and you make mistakes. I think other women find that kind of honesty very encouraging!

Leave a Reply

