It’s the INGREDIENT List That Matters!

Re-posting one of my articles from 2010, because it’s a good one…  🙂

It’s pretty standard practice for consumers to look at the “Nutrition Facts” label before they buy groceries.  We look at grams of fat, saturated fat, number of calories, carbohydrates, sodium content, etc.  I know I always did.  I’d try to avoid the high-fat items and the items loaded with sodium.  Besides, that’s what we’re taught from “nutrition experts” and from our 9th grade health class.  I’d always opt for the low fat/ no fat mayo’s, dressings, chocolate (HA!), cereal, etc.  Then at home, I’d eat my fat-free items limitlessly “knowing” that I was protecting my arteries and heart from all those fats.  Boy was I wrong!  There’s quite a few flaws in that mentality.

I couldn’t care less about what the sodium, carbs, calories, or grams of fat are now… because I’m buying things with wholesome ingredients that I know are good for me.

In the quest to make our foods with the perfect appearance, the perfect texture in our mouths, the perfect taste to the American palate, and at a price that’s cheaper than their competitor, manufacturers are putting in truckloads of chemically manufactured ingredients, most of which aren’t even edible if eaten solo.  Who really wants to eat potassium sorbate?  Anyone?

I am fully convinced that it’s not really the “Nutrition Facts” that are destroying our health, it’s the INGREDIENT LIST!!!

Looking at the “Nutrition Facts” alone is not the best indicator as to how nutritious our food is going to be.  Here’s an example of one item…

Nutrition Facts:
Calories:  368
Calories from Fat:  282
Total Fat:  34 grams; 52% DV (Recommended Daily Value)
Saturated Fat:  5 grams; 24% DV

Before I tell you what this is, would you eat it?  I mean, in this ONE serving, we are getting 52% of our daily recommended amount of FAT!?  Aren’t you outraged?  Well, you shouldn’t be.  It’s an avocado, 1 cup pureed!  On a side note, if you are buying nutritious foods, there’s no need to pay regard to the “Recommended Daily Value” percentages.  I ate 3 avocados for lunch the other day and didn’t think twice about it!

Here’s another one…

Nutrition Facts:  Serving Size:  1 Tbsp
Calories:  120
Calories from Fat:  120
Total Fat:  14 grams
Saturated Fat:  12.5 grams; 63% DV

Wow, 12.5 grams of saturated fat in ONE Tablespoon!!  Ordinarily, we’d think “yikes.”  But in this case, the fat is so great and so extraordinarily healthy, we should go back for seconds… and thirds!  It’s coconut oil!  I’ll blog more about this superfood later, but the stuff has MEGA health benefits.  The saturated fat in this oil will be greatly appreciated by your body, it’ll get eaten up and used in every way possible to maximize it’s amazing health benefits!

The thing is, GOOD fats actually help you LOSE weight!  Whereas the fats from hydrogenated oils (and sugars from high fructose corn syrup and others) can make you gain like crazy.  Some of these fake “ingredients” are messing with our metabolism and body processes so much, they are inhibiting us from having a healthy weight and a healthy life.  They are one of the reasons why diseases “run” in nearly every family.  I can tell you from my own personal experience that I am at the best weight I’ve ever been in my entire life right now and some days I eat 4-5 Tablespoons of coconut oil, or more!

The real “Nutrition Fact” is that the ingredient list is what can really make or break your health.

Leave a Reply

