Ephesians 6:11

There are definitely much neater looking “Armor of God” displays to give children a visual while teaching Ephesians 6:11.  But… this is frugal and easy enough.  And we had SO much fun making our soldier!  While tracing and drawing and cutting, we had wonderful discussions about what the armor of God really means.  We even got to share the Bible lesson with some neighbors and let the neighborhood children tape on his armor!
DSCN6593
It was neat for my son’s little ears to hear that it’s not really about being a physical soldier, but about fighting against evil and the devil.  That we need the Word of God and that we need Faith!  And we need Salvation and Righteousness and Truth!!  And we need the Gospel of Peace.  We have to “put on” all of this armor.  We have to be equipped and ready at all times.

My boys enjoy pretending to be soldiers.  They like to be Mama’s strong men.  My brother is a soldier who is in Afghanistan right now.  As my boys have prayed for him and we’ve discussed him, it has helped solidify what a soldier of the Lord looks like.

This was a super fun family craft that opened up really neat learning and discussing times.  These are the things I hope my children really remember when they’re grown.  Meaningful Bible discussions.

I hope you and your little ones can also learn about Ephesians 6:11.  Let me know if your poster turns out better than mine!

(Tips:  My son laid down on this poster board and we traced his body for the soldier.  For most of the armor, I printed a picture out from the internet, cut it, traced it onto my colored paper, then cut it out again on my colored paper.  I then laminated all of the armor so the children could tape it on him more securely.  He is still hanging on our wall!  Please don’t poke fun at my crooked helmet or two different sized arms!)  🙂

One thought on “Ephesians 6:11

  1. I LOVE this idea! My little boys also love pretending to be knights or warriors, and this is a great way to teach them about the spiritual battle that they will be fighting every day for the rest of their lives.

Leave a Reply

