Pretend Fire Grilling Game

My boys have spent hours playing with this.

We took party streamers (orange, yellow, red) and cut them in strips to make “flames.”

We then taped the “flames” to wire cooling racks, our “grills.”

Using little chairs or a container, and a lego building, prop a box fan on its side where the air will blow upwards.

Place your “grill” on the fan and let the wind blow the raging fire flames!

Give your child a pair of tongs, a spatula, and some pretend food.

Let them grill food and serve it to others!

Actually, this turned into quite the precious memory in our home.  My boys (age 5 and 3) told me to pretend that I was the poor because they wanted to serve food to the poor.

I would say “Oh, I’m so hungry, I don’t have any food.”  They’d say, “Food is coming, how would you like that cooked?  I have cookies coming also.  Would you like some more?  Are you still hungry?  I’m giving away free food today to anyone who is hungry.”

We’ve went on and on and on playing this pretend game.  My sons have got to “practice” serving the poor and it’s pretty incredible to see what sweet hearts they have.  This Mama was moved, it’s been p.r.e.c.i.o.u.s.

DSCN4941DSCN4942

2 thoughts on “Pretend Fire Grilling Game

  1. Did you get this idea from the Whole Foods display? You are so creative! I’m going to have to do this now, especially because every time we walk into Whole Foods (down there by the deli entrance) the kids get SO excited by it! 😀

Leave a Reply

