March & April Goals Update

Time for another 2013 Goals Update.  I’ve been putting some of my attention on other things, so I don’t have as good of a report as I’d like.  But I’ll be transparent and just let you see how imperfect I really am…

Reduce my computer time.   (I did do a 5 day computer fast and it was eye-opening.  I was able to do a lot more other things that I didn’t realize were being drowned out by computer time, ahem, reading!  I’ll still be working on this though.  Hubby took over the budget, so that’s less computer time I need).  

Meal Plan at least once per month. (This goal is always last to get my attention.  I did meal plan twice, but that still left a couple weeks with no plan.  I’m wingin’ it most of the time.  I still need improvement in this area).

Read the Bible daily with children at mealtimes plus continue with Memory Verse work and Bible story time.  Doing well!

Follow homeschool lesson plans (make lesson plans every 6 weeks).  Doing great!  I’m going to a homeschool conference next month and I’m sure I’ll walk away with fresh inspiration too!

Read through the entire KJV Bible for my third time (three chapters per day) (On target, even ahead by a little!)

Record 1,000 gifts from God- His grace and love and blessings in my life.  Going wonderfully.  I’m on number 906 for this year already!  So much to be thankful for!

Pray for every country of the world with my children.  Pray for the needs of others both locally and globally.  We’re following along with the email program to pray for countries around the world and we cover other needs, our friends, and family in prayer as well.

Follow my daily routine and weekly checklist. (This is my list of things I need to do each day like exercise, take vitamins, homeschool, housework, etc) Yep, doing good for the most part, although I could up it a notch or two.

Read at least one book per month.  (I read four books in March and five in April!)

Hand-write a special, personal note to either my husband or one of my children each month.  Rats, forgot about this for April, will go do it right now while it’s still April 30th!  

Do one healthy detox thing for my health each month.  I did one for March.

Go on at least one field trip each month with my children.  We did quite a few fun things including ice skating and tennis, among other things.

Meet exercise goals.  (This includes walking, rebounding, and doing strengthening exercises).  I exercised 16 times in January and a measly 7 times in February.  I was hoping for improvement but with cooler-than-normal March weather, I only exercised 9 times in March.  I did 15 times for the month of April.  I also added in working on push-ups!  For my first test, to see how many I could do without stopping (max) before practicing any push-up program, I did 33 modified (female) push-ups.  I’m happy to report that I tested myself again yesterday and I did 46 without stopping!  That’s good improvement!  How many can you do with no breaks, just straight at ’em till you can’t do another single one!?

Share the love of Jesus with at least one stranger per month by having a one-on-one conversation with someone I’ve never met! (Yah!  This goal has been great.  I’ve been able to share with a total of 7 people this year, but since a couple of them were couples, I’m counting it as 5.  So precious to talk about Jesus and people actually listen!)

Have an awesome marriage by reading marriage books together, having date nights, speaking honorably to each other, doing nice things for each other, etc.  We have been able to do some date nights after the children are in bed and have had fun watching some good movies together.  Our marriage is definitely stronger than it’s ever been and I look forward to continuing to strengthen it!

Go on at least one family vacation to build memories and enjoy each other.  (Perhaps this summer??)

Do one month of NO sugar (I can still have my healthier homemade sweeteners like honey, maple syrup, etc) (This goal is for no white sugar and all its disguising ingredients like dextrose, fructose, evaporated cane juice, high fructose corn syrup,etc.  Also, no fruit juice sweetened items or fruit juice itself).  Did this for January and February completely and 2 weeks in April.  Will start again soon because when I don’t do “no sugar” as a rule, I will snack on “healthy” cookies all. day. long.  It’s so addicting that I have to put my foot down and say “NO sugar!”  

Do a 3-day raw food diet.  (Send me your tips if you’ve done a raw food diet before!!)    I’m officially ditching this goal, I’m just not there right now, sad to say.

Hospitality/ Having a guest over- do this at least 12 times in 2013!  Did one in March and one in April.

So I definitely have room for improvement on my goals!  I’ll keep working at ’em!

How are you doing on your 2013 goals??

Leave a Reply

