2013 Goals Update- January & February

I only update my goals every other month, it’s just easier.  So here’s the update after January and February.  Next update, Lord willing, will be at the end of April!  Updates are in bold.

Reduce my computer time.   (I think I’m going to do this by hubby setting an auto-shut-off feature when I’ve reached my quota each day.  And no, I’m not addicted to the computer.  I’m not on Facebook, I don’t have internet on my phone.  It’s just that so many of my tasks are on the computer, but those need to decrease).  We tried the auto-shut off feature and it worked for a week or two, but then I learned how to add more time to my clock.  🙂   I seriously need to work on this goal more!! 

Meal Plan at least once per month. I forgot to track this goal but I know I did at least did two large meal plans and maybe a 3rd one too.  Plus I read an e-book on meal planning so I could get some motivation.  I could definitely use some more improvement though. 

Read the Bible daily with children at mealtimes plus continue with Memory Verse work and Bible story time.  Doing well!

Follow homeschool lesson plans (make lesson plans every 6 weeks).  Doing great!  You know I don’t like bragging, but did you know my three year old can read?!  Actually, he started reading at 2 1/2!  Oh, but I’m not proud or bragging or anything.  🙂

Read through the entire KJV Bible for my third time (three chapters per day) I get up early every single morning and have my Bible time before the family wakes up.  I’m a little ahead of schedule even!

Record 1,000 gifts from God- His grace and love and blessings in my life.  Going wonderfully.  I’m on number 485 for this year already!  So much to be thankful for!

Pray for every country of the world with my children.  Pray for the needs of others both locally and globally.  We’re following along with the email program to pray for countries and we pray for requests of loved ones as well. 

Follow my daily routine and weekly checklist. (This is my list of things I need to do each day like exercise, take vitamins, homeschool, housework, etc) Yep, doing good.

Read at least one book per month.  So far this year I’ve only read 3 books and one of them was an e-book.  I was wondering why so little reading and then it dawned on me… whenever I ramp up my Bible reading to finish in less than a year, there’s little reading time left for other books.  I don’t think I’ll be reading as many books as I did last year (which was 39).  Or maybe I could if I stopped reading blogs and publications I subscribe to in the mail.  🙂

Hand-write a special, personal note to either my husband or one of my children each month.  Done!  Fun!

Do one healthy detox thing for my health each month.  I did one for January, and the one in February ended up being too hard on my body so I had to quit before completing.  I did try though and gave it my best!

Go on at least one field trip each month with my children.  We went to an aquarium in January (so fun to pet sting rays!) and a homeschoolers gymnastics trial class in February, which probably shouldn’t really count but it’s all I got folks!  

Meet exercise goals.  (This includes walking, rebounding, and doing strengthening exercises).  Not where I want to be on this one!  I exercised 16 times in January and a measly 7 times in February.  I will say, when warmer weather hits, I have a track record of taking great walks all the time!  So we shall see…

Share the love of Jesus with at least one stranger per month by having a one-on-one conversation with someone I’ve never met!  (I actually did this quite a bit in 2012, but not enough.  So now it’s an official goal!)  I witnessed to a man at a bowling alley and had a lengthy conversation with him, walked him through why we need salvation, what Jesus did for him, and how he can be saved.  He said he would pray to God and since his birthday was the next day, he thought that would be a good day to commit himself to God and get right with Him.  I followed up by mailing him a book to encourage him in his walk.  Pray for him, his name is David!

Have an awesome marriage by reading marriage books together, having date nights, speaking honorably to each other, doing nice things for each other, etc.  We’re doing great!  We had a date night last week and watched “Stand Strong” together, an AFA movie.  My hubby has a heart the size of Texas!  Oh, and one neat marriage thing… he’s taken over the tracking of our budget as of January 1st!  It’s been fun for him and gave me some relief from keeping track of the day-to-day bills and expenses.  And since he sees the grocery budget so often now, he’s more willing to eat frugal meals!  Which was hard to talk him into doing before actually.  🙂

Go on at least one family vacation to build memories and enjoy each other.  (Perhaps this summer??)

Do one month of NO sugar (I can still have my healthier homemade sweeteners like honey, maple syrup, etc) (This goal is for no white sugar and all its disguising ingredients like dextrose, fructose, evaporated cane juice, high fructose corn syrup,etc.  Also, no fruit juice sweetened items or fruit juice itself).  I had leftover cookies from New Year’s on January 1st and haven’t had any sugar since!  No fruit juice.  No disguising names for sugar.  Nada!  I do still use my honey, maple syrup, agave, and coconut palm sugar at home for baking though.  So TWO months are almost complete on this one!  BTW, I had bought some gluten free peppermint cookie dough around Christmas time.  It’s been sitting in my fridge this whole time, untouched.  Poor cookies!  And that’s not all… my hubby got orange juice for his birthday, me none.  We let the kids have this healthy licorice stuff when they do something great, me none.  Newman O’s were on sale and hubby had me pick him up two packs… me none.  🙂   Honestly, it’s not even been hard though, I’m good.  🙂

Do a 3-day raw food diet.  (Send me your tips if you’ve done a raw food diet before!!)

Hospitality/ Having a guest over- do this at least 12 times in 2013!  I did one in January, delivered two meals total, and my neighbor says I’m hospitable for asking her and her daughter to come out and play in our yard all the time, does that count?!  🙂

So I definitely have room for improvement on my goals!  I’ll keep working at ’em!

How are you doing on your 2013 goals?? 

3 thoughts on “2013 Goals Update- January & February

  1. Great stuff!!! 1000 gifts, I’ve got too.. Having someone over for dinner st least once a month and studying godly character with my kids/ daycare kids are a few if mine. Keep it up!!

  2. WAAAHOO! You’re doing AWESOME! Let’s see…I’m doing pretty good on my goals. 1. Start Reading a chapter in the Bible M-F. Pretty much doing it. I have started reading more than one chapter/day. I’ve finished 2 books of John. I’m in Psalms & Proverbs now & will start the book of Peter next. 2. Run a 5K with Kyle. We’re gonna run one in April for the SPCA. 3. Melanie reading independently-DONE! 4. Replace half of our dinner meals with a non-meat meal. So 3 to 4 nights a week we don’t eat meat for dinner. LOVIN’ IT! Probably by the end of the year I will have reduced it even further. I don’t think anyone’s really noticed so far. HA! 5. Keep a “Blessings Journal” also. It’s really hard to find time to write down my Blessings everyday. I really feel bad about saying that too. Because I AM VERY BLESSED. And I have SO much to jot down and so little time to do it. I guess my new “mini” goal is to make sure I FIND time. Yes, I’m gonna try harder to do that. And that’s all I’ll really share via blog. Thanks! 🙂

Leave a Reply

