My 2012 Goals

Back in January, I made some goals of things I wanted to accomplish in2012.  It has been great and has really helped me stay focused on what I want to get done and not get distracted by things that aren’t as important to me.

I was totally inspired by Money Saving Mom (see her goals here) (you think my goals are ambitious?, she’s a machine!) who encourages others to break down big goals into smaller, bite-sized pieces and start plugging away at them.

I like the idea of “starting with the end in mind.”  At the end of my life, what will have mattered most?  What do I want to say that I did?  What kind of wife and mother will I have wanted to be?  Now I take those goals and break them down into yearly, monthly, and weekly goals.  I love the idea of living life with PURPOSE and INTENTION, not just letting life happen.

Intentional Living.  Purposeful living.

Below are most of the goals I set.  In January I emailed a few friends my list and then have been giving them updates ever since.  Not that they hound me or anything, but just knowing someone else knows my goals makes me even more motivated to actually complete them!  (My most recent July updates are in bold in parenthesis)

Finish reading through the KJV Bible by the end of November.  (I’m on target with this goal!)

Read at least one book per month.  (For July, I finished four excellent books!  Check out the bottom of My Book List to see what I’m currently reading).

Record 1,000 gifts this year (a thankfulness list)- Keeping a list of His love for me.  (I’m on number 1,067!  I’ve had so much fun doing this one!  I love LOOKING for things to be thankful for and then writing them down so I’ll remember them.  I imagine I’ll get close to 2,000 by the end of the year!  God is so awesome!)

Bible reading with children- Continue 1 excerpt from Matthew per day at breakfast, 1 excerpt from Proverbs at lunch, 1 excerpt from Genesis at dinner, Memory Verses, and Bible Story Book during homeschooling time.  (On target with this, the boys love it and it’s going great!  I’m blown away that my 5-year old knows about 80 verses completely by heart.  And that doesn’t include the 26 verses he’s also memorized from his ABC Songs cd (a cd that has a Bible verse for each letter of the alphabet).  So that’s about 106 verses total!  My two year old (because he hears big brother say them nearly every day) also knows most all of these, but Mama says part of the line and then he fills in the blanks.  Also very impressive how many he knows!  I give God the glory, He designed them so amazingly!)

Pray for the entire world with children in a year using online calendar- one country at a time.  (We’re on target, learning a lot, eyes being opened to the needs of others around the world, and learning a lot of geography too!  We’ve prayed for countries I’d not even heard of before!)

Make homemade laundry soap for the fun of it.   (I did this in February and again in March, it’s an easy recipe that seems to work good too!  I’ll be making another batch soon!)

Do a 1-day raw food diet at least once, if not more.  (Did this in Feb, it was harder than it sounded!  Even though it was only for ONE day, it was a challenge to me indeed.  I woke up so hungry the next day).

Do a 3-day raw food diet at least once, if not more.  (After being so challenged on the ONE day diet, I’m not sure if I can do THREE days, we shall see.  I might just decide to be more purposeful in eating more raw foods each day instead of doing all raw for 3 days).

Do one month with absolutely no sugar (white sugar, “organic” sugar, evaporated cane juice, fruit juice, dextrose, fructose, etc.  Natural sweeteners are allowed- honey, maple syrup, etc)- do this twice.   (Did this in February and again in July!  I think the one day raw food challenge was harder b/c I really didn’t have too hard of a time with this.  I only use natural sweeteners at home anyway, but I would often pick up a box of “natural, organic” cookies from the health food store and they just disappeared way too quickly.  It was out of hand).

Get better at menu planning and having a meals rotation.  (Oh man, am I the only one that struggles with meal planning?!  I did complete two menu plannings in July though which is progress for me).

Continue to follow daily checklist that lines up with life goals/ homeschooling goals/ child training goals.  (I have done well at this, I follow this list like a machine!)   (This list helps me stay focused on getting things done daily.  Some of the stuff on my daily list includes:  our homeschool checklist, exercise, remembering to take my vitamins/ supplements, etc).

Go through each room of the house and become a minimalist.  (I did the whole house in January and had a huge garage sale in February!  I’m still going though and finding even more to get rid of!  Ah, a de-cluttered home is so freeing!  I’m not a true minimalist, I call myself a minimalist wanna-be)!

Email account de-cluttered and then maintained that way.  (I’ve made a lot of progress with this.  I’ve kept my inbox pretty cleared but now need to go back and sort through emails I’ve marked to come back to for one reason or another.  Umm, there’s about 1,000 of those so it’ll take a while). 

Organize internet faves so they’re not overwhelming.  (Completed this in June!  Again, I’m a nerd, I sorted them all on an Excel spreadsheet!)

Go through computer desktop files and sort better/ delete old.  (Completed this in June!  I had so much old stuff and documents that weren’t in any folder, just all over the place.  But now… Ah, everything in its proper electronic place!)

Go mostly paperless (Get rid of stack of old papers that need gone through (it’s about a half-drawer’s worth) as well as some old filing cabinet folders of papers).  (Still need to get to most of this although I have made some progress).

Update our wills.  (DONE.  Glad to have this out of the way).

Home Improvement Projects- Replace faucets in master bathroom (they are not in good condition- waiting for a good, clearance deal).  Repaint baseboards and trim in house (Wonder if we can get the in-laws to help when they visit this fall??)  Sell front living room furniture and convert the room into a homeschool room (Done!)  Get rid of conventional mattress in guest bedroom.  (Done!)

Have an awesome marriage.  (Read marriage books, have monthly date nights, do at least one special/ nice thing each month for my husband).  (We’re currently both reading the same marriage book (Love Life for Every Married Couple by Dr. Ed Wheat.  Actually I just finished, he still has a little to go).  This is my third marriage book for the year.  We watched Monumental together recently for a date night.  Doing pretty good at this goal.  That was an awesome marriage book by the way!  Really encouraged me and gave me new insight on how to have an EXCELLENT marriage)!

Just last month, I added three more goals.
Do one sort of healthy detox (detoxification) per month.  (I did one for June that also lasted through July).

Write at least one of my children a special letter each month.  (Done for June.  Done for July).

Have someone over/ show hospitality at least once per month.  (Did three for July)!

I’m also in the middle of a 30 day exercise challenge.  (Unfortunately, I haven’t completed all of this.  On average each week, I’m getting about 75% of my workouts in).  This is the last week and then I’ll probably renew this challenge so I can try and do better.

New Goal I’m Adding for August:  Get fixed up (including curling my hair) at least once per week for my hubby!  I’m a mom of three little ones… getting fixed up is something I only do on Sunday’s (and even then I usually still wear a pony-tail).  Yikes! 

One thought on “My 2012 Goals

Leave a Reply

