One Thousand Gifts

I recently finished reading “One Thousand Gifts” by Ann Voskamp.  First off, let me say, I cannot truly put into words how much this book affected me.  I HIGHLY recommend you get it and read it yourself, it’s worth your time FOR SURE!

Ann talks about this challenge that she started… to write down 1,000 things that she was thankful for.  Well, she kept going well past 1,000!  She talks about how we are always on the move for the next best thing and that most people don’t know what it means to be truly content, right where you are.  To stop desiring more of this and more of that, but to be absolutely thankful for all the little gifts you come across each day.  One of the points that really hit home to me was how she explained that everything (absolutely everything) is by God’s grace.  If it weren’t for God’s grace, you wouldn’t be breathing right now, you wouldn’t be eating that food, you wouldn’t have that child, you wouldn’t have those friends.  It is absolutely ALL grace, God’s grace!

She talks about how even in the gut-wrenching hard times of life, there is STILL God’s grace, that He still is giving us gifts every single day.

I read a lot of non-fiction (mostly practical living books on Christianity, being a wife, being a mother, being a homemaker, a homeschooler, etc), but after reading this book, I kind of felt like I touched the fiction genre just because her language is SO rich and beautiful.  Flourishing words that captivate you.  This book left an impression on my soul for sure.  I have started my list of 1,000 things!  It works on the heart, it makes you stop to REALIZE the gifts you’ve been given (even little things like an extra squeeze around the neck from your child).  To have praise on our lips is to fulfill our purpose in life, to CONSTANTLY be in a state of praise to God for all He’s done and all that He is.  Talk about LEARNING to be content, this exercise ought to do it!

Rich, deep stuff, get the book!  Check out this on her website and get a glimpse of what the book is about.  Especially if you are going through (or have gone through) a dark, tough time in life, this book will be especially encouraging to you.  She also has a sweet blog.

2 thoughts on “One Thousand Gifts

  1. I haven’t read her book but I have been following her blog for a couple of years now. And I have started my own list of 1000 gifts. I’ve passed the 1000 mark but haven’t gotten it all typed into my blog. Two of my children started recording God’s gifts to them and they are now at; 6350 (my 21 year old), and 5900 (my 15 year old) (they have been doing it for a year or less). It really does make a difference in your view of life, your attitudes when things go ‘wrong’, and contentment.

    I really want to read her book. It is on my list to get. 🙂

Leave a Reply

