Sauerkraut Pita’s

We have this often when I need a quick and easy dinner, and it’s so tasty!  True story… I have never liked sauerkraut ever in my life, uck!  Until I tried Bubbie’s brand of sauerkraut!  It is crisp and zappy!  I REALLY like sauerkraut now!  But not just any brand, I’ve even tried other organic brands, but found them to be soggy and weak.  I actually really LIKE the smell of Bubbie’s!  You can find me on sauerkraut night just standing around smelling the open jar!  I cannot guarantee the outcome of this recipe unless you use Bubbies!  And they aren’t paying me to say that!

Ingredients:

1 Onion, diced

1 Jar of Bubbie’s Sauerkraut

A Batch of thicker “Ranch” or other mayo condiment

Soft Tortillas

1 Red Bell Pepper- sliced in strips

Spinach Leaf, Lettuce, Sprouts, or Greens of Your Choice

Optional:  Meat  (nitrate-free deli meat or ground meat, whatever you desire)

Saute your onions until they are soft and translucent, then turn off the heat and add sauerkraut to the same pan (1 big heap per pita that you are going to make), stir.  On a preheated pan (lightly oil if needed to prevent sticking), lay a tortilla, then top with some of your onion/ sauerkraut mixture, some slices of red bell pepper, and add your cooked meat here also if using meat.  Let warm for a few minutes until tortilla is golden brown.  Remove from heat and spread “Ranch” or mayo, flax seed like always, and greens.  Fold up like a half moon (pita-like) and enjoy!

I’ve also tried these with fresh cilantro when I was really craving cilantro and it was great too!

This is a flexible recipe, add whatever you like.  You can grill the red peppers if you don’t like them raw (although, I LOVE them raw)!

2 thoughts on “Sauerkraut Pita’s

  1. This sounds sooo good! I have been really wanting more sauerkraut recipes. We usually eat it with beans and cornbread and I love it on salads. I can’t wait to try this! I do miss Bubbies pickles and sauerkraut. Maybe we’ll figure out how to make our own. 🙂

    Thank you for sharing so many yummy recipes.

    God Bless,
    Sherry

  2. I’m glad I finally came up with a recipe to give you Sherry, you always give me all of yours! I made this one time just on a whim, just experimenting. It turned out so good that we made it part of our regular meal rotation! Sometimes when I’m really low on groceries, I’ll have it with just onion and sauerkraut only. Gotta do what ya gotta do!
    I put these in hubby’s lunches too!

Leave a Reply

