TTO Spray (Tea Tree Oil Spray)

What is Tea Tree Oil?  It is an essential oil made from the melaleuca tree.  It comes in a little bottle and is in a concentrated liquid form, so it only requires a little at a time.  It is a natural disinfectant!  There are dozens and dozens of uses of this stuff.  So if you get a bottle, make sure to look up all the things it can do, cure, aid, etc!  It’s good for a lot of different skin problems, immune treatments, and great for many homemade products you use every day like toothpaste, mouthwash, deodorant, etc.

TTO Spray is a safer way to clean your countertops, table tops, sinks, stovetops, and even bathrooms.  And talk about cheaper!  Let’s see, a bottle of 409 or Clorox cleaner is probably somewhere around $2-$3??  One bottle of tea tree oil for around $5 will probably last you more than 5 years!  And of course, you’re keeping the air in your home more pure by not spraying the icky conventional stuff all over the place.  Just walking by the cleaner aisles in stores makes my nose twitch, so I do everything I can to not use chemically manufactured cleaners in my home.  I always have my bottle of TTO spray out when it’s time to clean!
Homemade TTO Spray:
Step One- Get an Empty Spray Bottle and Fill with Water 

Step Two- Add 7-8 Drops of Tea Tree Oil
If you don’t like the smell of TTO, also add 7-8 drops of your favorite essential oil to make it smell more pleasing to you.  Lemon or Orange smells so refreshing! Step Three- Clean Your Home Safely!

An awesome cleaning tip: When you have really dirty counters or stovetops from last night’s dinner (that’s none of us I know, haha!), then spray the counter down with this TTO Spray and let sit for just a few minutes.  Your dried leftovers will wipe clean in just seconds!  Works like magic!  I use this trick all the time on my stovetop!

What’s wrong with the conventional chemically manufactured cleaning products?  For starters, have you seen the warning labels on most that stuff…  wear gloves when using, wear a mask, don’t get on skin, keep away from eyes, nose, and mouth, keep away from children, call the poison control center immediately if swallowed, only use in well-ventilated areas, the lists go on and on and on.  If it’s that dangerous and I’d have to comply with all those guidelines, I’d rather use something safer for my body and those that live in my home.  If we would take the time to read labels (whether it be cleaners, foods, drinks, medications, etc), we’d probably be much healthier because we’d see what’s going into our bodies.  At the LEAST, we should all be label readers!  One thing I always try to do when I see an ingredient that is unknown to me is to do an internet search and see if I can figure out what it is, how it’s made, whether or not it’s harmful, what my alternatives are, and any side effects that might affect my health from it.  Happy Label Reading!

5 thoughts on “TTO Spray (Tea Tree Oil Spray)

  1. Thank you for sharing this! I’ve been interested in more natural cleaners for a while, but never knew where to start!
    2 questions,
    Where do you get TTO?
    And it disinfects? Like it can be used in the bathrooms??

    *I must admit, I’m addicted to clorox wipes. :S*

    1. Thanks for your comment! You can get TTO at most health stores. The cheapest place around to get it is Herb Mart in Plano. Next best is my favorite grocery store, Natural Grocers in Richardson. But if you’re wanting something close to you, Mike’s Health Collection in McKinney at White & 75 or Market Street grocery store (they just charge more) are other places that carry it.
      Yes, it is a natural disinfectant! Try it on your bathroom and see how you like it, you can always go back to your Clorox wipes. Although I have to chime in and say that, although handy, those wipes may be doing more harm then good. Type in “dangers of clorox wipes” and see what I mean. I also use baking soda in the bathrooms to get my faucets to shine (scrub on with a toothbrush and rinse off). For the inside of my toilet, I do usually squirt some soap in there to scrub with my toilet brush.

  2. Thanks, I need to go to Mike’s anyway so I’ll just check it out there.

    And I know Clorox Wipes are bad. :S Like I said, I’ve intended on switching to better stuff for a while now, but it’s overwhelming to know where to start!
    Also, did you say you put something in it to help the smell? I’ve been told the TTO itself smells awful…

    1. Kirsten, I personally don’t think the TTO smell is bad. But yeah, it’s not everyone’s favorite scent. So I just updated this post to say… you can add another scent of essential oil to it also. I sometimes put lemon in mine and I really like my clean lemony kitchen when I’m done cleaning!

Leave a Reply

