2014 Goals

Oh me, oh my.  Just have baby #5 and watch your goals slide to the back burner!  It’s totally okay though, babies are way more important!  Here are my results on my 2014 goals (posting a little early so I can clear my head to start thinking about 2015 goals)…

Mothering/ Marriage/ Homemaking:
Make a Proverbs list.  We got half-way through this, which has been great though!

One handwritten note per month to someone in family (husband, child).  Done each month!

Two read-a-loud chapter books per month with older children.  We completed 24 this year!

Bible with children- Read at mealtimes, Continue to add new memory verses, Read Bible story book and role play.  We’re working through Proverbs.  We’re still adding new Bible memory verses often.  And we finished  101 Favorite Stories from the Bible.  So we hit this goal!

Do at least 25 Children’s Crafts/ Activities with my children.  My children really like doing crafts so I want to make sure I do this for them.  We have done 54 crafts this year!  Some were super easy though.  We might have a couple more before the year is over.

Every Saturday, have a planning session for each day of next week.  Done.

Personal Growth:
Read 1/2 the Bible- I actually finished the entire KJV Bible this year, my fourth time to read completely through it!  Amazing!!  God is absolutely amazing!

Read 24 books- I’ve read 52 books so far this year and am nearing the end of 3 more!  So 55 most likely!  This is huge, I’m so excited about this one!  I’ve learned and grown so much because of the books I’ve read!  (But before you think I’m super-woman, 20 of these have been e-books, which are shorter than regular paperback books).  🙂

Record 1,000 Gifts- things I’m thankful for.  I’ve recorded 1,820 things I’m thankful for so far this year!

Try to live more minimalist and keep clutter to a minimum by getting rid of 7 things per week.  I stopped counting but I did do pretty good with this.  Just made a large thrift store drop-off the other day.  My hubby would say though that I need to work on this one some more. 

Ministry:
Pray genuinely for the needs of others at a set time each week (10 minutes, morning time).  I’ve got a prayer wall with lots of people’s names and needs from around the world up on the wall going up our stairs!  Yes, kept up on this for the most part.  So neat that my children’s eyes are being opened to needs all around the world.  And oh my, do you get icommittopray.com emails?  Oh my heart, such huge needs for prayer for persecuted Christians around the world.  I recommend signing up and praying for those that are being beaten, burned, displaced, and murdered for the name of Christ.  Even now, in our day and age.  It’s horrific.  And the least I can do is pray.

Pass out gospel tracts at least twice per month.  Finally more in the habit of this!  I keep some handy and the children each leave some throughout stores when we go out!

Pray for the entire world using online calendarDid this!

Health:
Do 3 months no sugar.  I’m still allowed to have my natural sweeteners- honey, maple syrup, agave nectar, and coconut sugar.  I use no other sweeteners.  Done in Jan/ Feb/ March.

Do a separate 3 months with only 1 sugar insult per week- Did this for April/ May/ June.

15 salads per month- I’ve hit this goal every single month, and them some!  Yah!!  This was such an awesome goal, I’m so glad I did it!!  I now crave my salads and want them more than 15 times per month!

Briskly walk on treadmill (or outside) at least 4 times each week for at least 49 weeks of the year, at least 30 minutes each session.  October and November were my not-so-good months.  I only exercised 7 times in October and 12 times in November.  But with a newborn, I just didn’t make time for it.  I did hit this goal all other months though and am on track to hit this goal in December.

You ready to set 2015 goals???  I’m excited to do so but am also prepared to lower the bar since I have five children now!

2 thoughts on “2014 Goals

  1. What in tarnation do you mean that your goals were put on the backburner?!?! You read THRU the Bible, ready 50+ books, ate lots of salads, homeschooled your FOUR children while nursing your little guy, prepared from-scratch meals for your family, and on and on. I am AMAZED! Way to go lady! =)

    1. Your funny Candace. And I will say for the record… I sure do everything the hard way and it is HARD. But like Todd Wilson says… hard is worth it. Okay, and the goals HAVE been on the back burner SINCE September. I was cranking them out before then so my year-end results look good, but my Sept/ Oct/ Nov results weren’t so great, but that’s okay, I’m definitely not complaining, just sayin’! =)

Leave a comment